Wednesday 24 July 2013

Caldecott Award Winning Picture Books

 The Caldecott Award is given annually by the American Library Association to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children. This prestigious award is one that writers look forward to in recognition of their hard work and love for children. For 2013 the award goes to...........     drum roll......

This Is Not My Hat was written and illustrated by Jon Klassen. From all appearances, this book seems dark and boring, but as you turn the pages the images are indeed captivating. This award winning picture book is about a little fish who boldly steals a hat from a bigger fish not expecting to be caught. Each page sends him further and further into the unknown and we anticipate what his outcome would be.You've got to get your hands on this winner. The illustrations are breath-taking! This is indeed a must-have!


There are other great picture books that made the honor roll this year. Just click on the pictures below to get more information. on each of these reader's delight.

Creepy Carrots by Aaron Reynolds (Pre-School to Grade 3)

Extra Yarn by Mac Barnett (4 to 8 year olds)

Green by Laura Vaccaro Seeger  (2 to 6 year olds)

One Cool Friend by Toni Buzzeo (5 to 8 year olds)

Sleep Like a Tiger by Mary Logue (3 to 6 year olds)

A Ball for Daisy by Chris Raschka

Blackout by John Rocco

No comments:

Post a Comment

Exploring Light Properties with Eye-Catching Clip Art: Enhance Your Science Lessons!

  Are you looking to brighten up your science lessons? These light properties clip art images are just what you need! From reflection to ref...